Highlights of Mount Wuyi
Introduction to Mount Wuyi
The Archaeological history of Mount Wuyi dates back to the 2,000s BCE. In this ancient time, the culture of the Gumin and later on the Minye evolved in this far removed area of China. Approximately 3,000 years ago, the civilization and its traditions disappeared from the area. All that remains are the boat coffins, containing the first cotton textiles in China, and the city of the king of Yue of the Han Dynasty that occupies an area of 48 ha.
The site of Mount Wuyi was the birthplace of Neo-Confucianism that started with Cheng Hao of 1032 to 1085, and Cheng Yi of 1033 to 1107. Neo-Confucianism reached its high point under Zhu Xi of 1130 to 1200. This philosophy eventually became the primary philosophy from the 900s to 1800s, which spanned from the Song to the Qing Dynasties in China.
Mount Wuyi is where the greatly influential Zhu Xi preached for over 50 years. Therefore, it grew to be the nucleus of Neo-Confucian learning from the 900s to 1600s.
Mount Wuyi Gallery
Guide to Mount Wuyi
At present, the zone of Mount Wuyi that falls under UNESCO World Heritage Site protection occupies a region of 63,575 ha of core zone, 36,400 ha of inner zone, and 27,999 ha of buffer zone. All fall within the jurisdiction of the People’s Republic of China.
To the utmost east of the Mount Wuyi property are the 2 regions where the spots of cultural significance are found. The 18 wooden boat coffins are located in the lower areas of the Nine Bend River and in the northern mountainous region. These coffins are situated way up on the sheer cliffs inside protective rock spaces and are held up by the Hongqiao boards. The coffins are in an exceptional state of preservation. They are made of such natural substances as silk, bamboo, hemp and cotton.
Also found in the Mount Wuyi region are 35 academies from the 900s to 1800s, at the time of the Song to Qing Imperial Dynasties. There are few remains to be seen today including 2 rooms that were appended to Zhu Xi’s Ziyang Academy.
Of the remaining Taoist monasteries and temples, there is the Wannian Palace, Taoyuan Temple, Tiancheng Temple, Sanqing Hall, Baiyun Temple, and Tianxin Temple. Other surviving structures include numerous tombs that were created in the Shang Dynasty of the latter 100s BCE.
The tea culture of the area can also be witnessed. An Imperial tea farm was located here from the 1000s to 1500s. The purpose of this farm was to provide the Imperial Court with tea. There are some authentic components to be seen but the rest are more modern recreations. Piecemeal remnants of the early tea factories have been preserved, dating from the 1600s on.
Also at the site is the Han City of Chengcun, which is situated 10 kilometers to the southeast of the primary picturesque region. This city is encircled by a walled enclosure and contains 48 ha of rough terrain. Along this wall are 3 water gates and 4 land gates. These gates stretch over the river that runs through the locality.
The town’s organization follows the criterion of urban plans that were standard in the southern regions of China during this era. Among the structures that have been discovered inside the town are administrative buildings and palaces. Additional buildings include kilns, residences and industrial structures. Furthermore, a network that provided water has been located within and without the encircling city walls.
Video of Mount Wuyi
[youtube id="-B0IVkttkT4" width="730"]
History of Mount Wuyi
The first human settlements in the Mount Wuyi area predate the Xia Dynasty of the latter 200s BCE. The mountain became a part of the minor indigenous tribes at the time of the Shang and Zhou Dynasties of the 1500s to 200s BCE. Ethnic peoples in substantial numbers began moving to the area at the time of the Qin Dynasty of the latter 200s BCE.
From the latter 200s BCE to the early 200s CE, Mount Wuyi became a part of the state system of the Han Dynasty Chinese Empire. Therefore, the ruler of the area was made a subject of the Han Emperor. In the 1st century BCE, a sizable town was constructed near the mountain to be the area’s capital and heart of administration. During this era, Mount Wuyi, also called Wuyishan, became a sacred mountain. As a result, for the next few hundred years, academics and men of religious significance flocked to the site and numerous schools and monasteries were built. To protect the beautiful natural environment, the Tang Emperor Xuan Zong prohibited the cutting down of trees and fishing in the area in 748 CE.
Mount Wuyi began as a Taoist hub but was eventually replaced by Buddhism by the 1600s. At the renowned Wuyi Jingshe Academy, Zhu Xi developed the ideology of Neo-Confucianism during the Song Dynasty. Construction of this academy was initiated in 1183.
The Mount Wuyi site is under the protection of the following laws of the People’s Republic of China: the Law on the Protection of Cultural Relics of 1982, the Forestry Law of 1982, the Law on Management of Scenic and Historic Interest Areas of 1985, the Law on the Protection of Wildlife of 1988, the Law on Environmental Protection of 1989, and the Regulations on Nature Reserves of 1994.
Getting to Mount Wuyi
It is possible to book a local guide and driver from tourist agencies in the area. Another option is to take bus number 6 around the site. This bus runs between the attractions and it is then possible to walk around and explore each site.
To get to Mount Wuyi, there are trains that run overnight from Fuzhou and Xiamen. There is also an airport at Wuyi Mountain that has flights to and from numerous cities in China. From Beijing, there is a train that leaves in the afternoon and arrives 15 hours later in the early morning in Wuyishan.
Mount Wuyi News
Mount Wuyi Tours
Mount Wuyi Weather